Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher elected to Hall of Fame

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Another Monster of the Midway is headed to Canton.

Brian Urlacher, a finalist on his first ballot was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday.

Hard-hitting linebackers Ray Lewis and  Urlacher and big-play receiver Randy Moss all made the Pro Football Hall of Fame on their first try, while controversial receiver Terrell Owens got in on his third time on the ballot.

Safety Brian Dawkins also got voted by the 47 Hall of Fame voters as part of the eight-person class that also included contributor Bobby Beathard and senior nominees Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile.


Lewis and Urlacher helped define playing middle linebacker in their era with Lewis winning two AP Defensive Player of the Year awards and one Super Bowl MVP for Baltimore and Urlacher winning a Defensive Player of the Year award of his own.

Moss and Owens were two of the most dynamic receivers of their time, but also lightning rods because of an inability to get along well with teammates and coaches at times that led to each playing for five teams in their careers.

Urlacher played for the Bears from 2000-2012 and was selected to the Pro Bowl eight times in his career.

The former ninth overall pick out of New Mexico was named the NFL’s Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2000 before becoming a four-time first-team All Pro.

Urlacher finished his career with 1,358 tackles, 41.5 sacks and 22 interceptions.


Latest News

More News