Blackhawks Game 1 Notes For Wednesday @ Tampa

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

* Tampa Bay has already played 20 games during the 2015 postseason – tied with the 2014 Rangers for second most in league history for teams that made it to the Stanley Cup Final. The 2014 Kings are the only team in NHL history that played in three seven-game series prior to participating in the Final.

* Chicago will be playing in its 13th Stanley Cup Final in franchise history. The Blackhawks are the first club to reach the Final at least three times in any six-year span (also 2010 and 2013) since the Devils made it three times during a four-year span in 2000, 2001 and 2003.
* Tampa Bay will be playing in its second Stanley Cup Final since joining the NHL in 1992-93 (beat Flames in 2004). The 2015 Lightning are the first team in league history to defeat three Original Six clubs on the way to playing in the Final.

* Including losing each of the last two games vs. the Rangers in the Conference Finals, the Lightning are just 5-5 at Amalie Arena during the 2015 playoffs (7-3 on the road). Tampa Bay shut out Chicago, 4-0, earlier this season at home, and has defeated the Hawks four straight times at Amalie Arena overall (the first three of those wins needed extra time to decide a victor).
* Nineteen players on Chicago’s roster have appeared in at least one Stanley Cup Final, including former Lightning skater, Brad Richards who won the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2004. Richards had seven game-winning goals during the 2004 playoffs – most of any player in a single postseason all-time.
* Tampa Bay has six players on its roster who have participated in a Stanley Cup Final – Brian Boyle and Anton Stralman (both with 2014 Rangers), Matt Carle and Braydon Coburn (both with 2010 Flyers), Valtteri Filppula (with 2008 and 2009 Red Wings) and Brenden Morrow (with 2000 Stars). Of the six, the only one to hoist the Cup was Filppula in 2008.
* Jonathan Toews paced all NHL skaters with five goals during the Conference Finals, including two in Chicago’s Game 7 triumph over the Ducks. Dating to the 2009 playoffs, Patrick Kane (47), Patrick Sharp (41) and Toews (38) are the top three postseason goal-scorers in the league.
* Steven Stamkos has 17 points (7g, 10a) during the 2015 playoffs, matching the combined number of points he had in his first two postseason appearances combined. Coincidentally, and including two hat tricks, Stamkos has 17 career points (11g, 6a) in nine career skates against the Blackhawks.


Latest News

More News