Bulls owner Jerry Reinsdorf elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

CHICAGO – APRIL 01: Jerry Reinsdorf, chairman of the Chicago White Sox, watches as his team takes batting practice before the Opening Day game against the Cleveland Indians April 2, 2007 at U.S. Cellular Field in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HOUSTON – A few of the players that have played for his franchise have been enshrined into basketballs’ most prestigious hall.

Now the boss is going to go in too.

At the Final Four in Houston on Monday it was announced that Bulls owner Jerry Reinsdorf has been elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in the Class of 2016. He is one of a class of ten for this year and his election came from the contributor committee.

He’ll be enshrined in September joining in a class that includes former NBA players Allen Iverson, Shaquille O’Neal and Yao Ming.

“It is a very humbling honor to be selected as a member of the Basketball Hall of Fame,” said Reinsdorf in a statement released by the team.  “Making the Hall of Fame has long been considered the top individual honor that one can achieve in any sport, but for me, I feel it is a culmination of all the input and effort afforded me from so many other people over the years, that put me in this position today. It’s an exciting honor and a day I won’t soon forget.”

Reinsdorf has owned the Bulls since 1985 and in the 1990s oversaw one of the greatest dynasties in North American sports history. Led by future Hall of Famers Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen, the Bulls won six championships over an eight year span from 1990-1998. In the 1995-1996 season the Bulls won an NBA record 72 games en route to their fourth championship in six seasons.

The owner also saw the changing of venues during his time as owner as the Bulls moved from Chicago Stadium to the United Center in November of 1994.

By being elected to the Hall of Fame, Reinsdorf becomes the 13th member of the franchise to receive the honor. Jordan, Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Nate Thurmond, Robert Parish, Artis Gilmore, Chet Walker and Guy Rodgers all played for the Bulls during Hall of Fame careers. Phil Jackson and Jerry Sloan were elected as coaches while former team president Jerry Colangelo was elected as a contributor.

Reinsdorf is also the owner of the Chicago White Sox, which he purchased four years before buying the Bulls. Like the NBA team he also saw the transition of the team to a new ballpark in 1991 and helped them to a World Series title in 2005.




Latest News

More News