Notre Dame to host first 2020 presidential debate


The Main Building on the campus of Notre Dame University on July, 13, 2017, in South Bend, Indiana. – The University of Notre Dame, one of the oldest and most prestigious US centers of higher learning, will cover murals depicting Christopher Columbus out of concern that the art works depict a skewed history of colonial America. Painted on the walls of the Catholic institution’s main building — a grand structure with a golden dome built in 1879 — the 12 murals display various moments in the life and exploration of Columbus. (Photo by Nova SAFO / AFP) (Photo credit should read NOVA SAFO/AFP/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Commission on Presidential Debates announced Friday the schedule of the 2020 general election presidential and vice presidential debates.

The first general election presidential debate will be hosted by the University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Indiana, on Tuesday, September 29, 2020.

The University of Utah in Salt Lake City, Utah, will host the general election vice presidential debate on Wednesday, October 7, 2020.

The University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan, will host the second general election presidential debate on Thursday, October 15, 2020.

The third and final general election presidential debate will be hosted by Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee, on Thursday, October 22, 2020.

The CPD will announce further details about the debates, including format and moderators, in 2020. All debates will start at 9 p.m. ET and will run for 90 minutes without commercial interruption, the organization said.

The nonpartisan nonprofit organization has sponsored all general election presidential and vice presidential debates since 1987. The CPD does not receive funding from the government or any political party or campaign, according to the organization.

Last month, CPD announced former President George W. Bush and former President Barack Obama joined the organization as honorary co-chairs.


Latest News

More News