Chicago adds Kansas to travel quarantine order, Wisconsin ‘very close’ to joining 18 other states


CHICAGO — The City of Chicago has added another state to its emergency travel order, directing travelers entering or returning from specific states that are seeing spikes in coronavirus cases to quarantine.

According to the Chicago Department of Public Health, starting Friday, July 24, anyone arriving in Chicago from Kansas will be asked to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. This includes both residents and people visiting the city.

Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah were already on the list.

The 18 states now included in the travel order have been flagged for having a surge in coronavirus cases in recent days. The city says the list will be updated every Tuesday and go into effect the following Friday.

CDPH Commissioner Dr. Allison Arwady said Tuesday Wisconsin is getting “very close” to making the list, and could be added as soon as next week. She said one factor could be less people wearing masks in the state.

“When I talk to folks in Wisconsin… we know people are not wearing masks there at the level they are here in Chicago,” Arwady said.

Anyone found to violate the order could be fined $100 to $500 a day, up to $7,000 total. However, city officials conceded they won’t be able to keep track of who is and isn’t following the rules.


Latest News

More News