CHICAGO — An annual ceremony took place Thursday to honor fallen officers of the Chicago Police Department (CPD).

The 2023 Honored Star Case Ceremony encased the stars of six officers. Friends and families of the officers were invited to take part at the city’s Public Safety Headquarters.

The following officers had their stars enshrined this year:

  • Sergeant Francis J. McGraw #232 – End of Watch: May 6, 1942
  • Patrolman Charles A. Hibsch #4348 – End of Watch: November 9, 1947
  • Patrolman Dennis F. Collins #6874 – End of Watch: July 3, 1953
  • Police Officer James R. Svec #16713 – End of Watch: December 8, 2021
  • Police Officer Jose M. Huerta #13611 – End of Watch: December 23, 2021
  • Detective Joseph A. Tripoli #20571 – End of Watch: January 3, 2022

Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson and Interim CPD Superintendent were among those to provide remarks during the ceremony.

View the full ceremony in the video above.