This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CHICAGO — The City of Chicago announced Tuesday it has added four more states to its emergency travel order.

The Chicago Department of Public Health now lists Wisconsin, Missouri, North Dakota, and Nebraska as part of the order. The order was put in place to due coronavirus concerns.

Starting Friday, July 31, travelers entering or returning to Chicago from these states must quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

Anyone found to violate the order could be fined $100 to $500 a day, up to $7,000 total. However, city officials conceded they won’t be able to keep track of who is and isn’t following the rules.

Chicago’s public health commissioner Dr. Allison Arwady spoke out Tuesday about the city’s travel order, saying tickets could be coming for those who aren’t quarantining. Up until now, it’s been more of an honor system but Arwady hinted that enforcement could soon be stepped up.

However, enforcement could be difficult due to the laws in the state. Attorney Burton Odelson said the odds of having to pay if you’re caught violating the order are slim.

“It’s not as easy as giving someone a ticket on a car and you having to pay that,” he said. He said authorities would need something similar to an injunction to issue a ticket. 

“I don’t see it happening unless there’s a total shutdown similar to what happened in March,” he said.

Students will be returning to their respective college campuses soon and many may be coming from states in the travel order.

Loyoal University Chicago said all their students, staff and faculty are all subject to the travel order and that “a person must quarantine for 14 days from last contact with an affected state upon entering Illinois. The quarantine does not have to take place in Chicago or on campus, but must happen within the state of Illinois.”

There are now 22 states on the list: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Nevada, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin.

Illinois has also been added to New York’s travel order.