This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Despite impassioned pleas from parents and community activists, the Chicago Board of Education voted to close the vast majority of schools on its list.  Citywide, 49 elementary schools and one high school program will close.

After a last minute recommendation by the district, the boarded voted to spare four elementary schools:  On the south side, Mahalia Jackson and Garvey.  On the west side, Ericson.  And on the near north side Manierre Elementary.

Before taking a vote, board president David Vitale says he and the other board members carefully weighed their decision.

“We have been out to each and every one of these impacted communities.  We have walked past abounded buildings, walked thru underutilized with entire floors devoid of students,” he said.

CPS chief Barbara Bryd Bennett says the district has no choice as it faces a one billion dollar budget deficit and declining enrollment.

“I made a commitment to work to build trust, it does not happen overnight, to create transparencies and to gain respect for the system and for our communities,” she said.

Outside CPS headquarters on South Clark St the protest raged on.  Several aldermen voiced their opposition to some or all of the school closings in their respective wards.

“The pending proposals places an inequitable burden upon African American and Latino communities,” Ald. Bob Fioretti said.

In response, Mayor Emanuel released a statement reading in part:  “I know this is incredibly difficult, but I firmly believe the most important thing we can do as a city is provide the next generation with a brighter future.  More hard work lies ahead, but I am confident that together with teachers and principals, engaged parents and community support, our children will succeed.”

Arguably the most vocal opponent to the school closings, Chicago Teachers Union Karen Lewis spoke to the board this afternoon and then to reporters immediately after the historic vote.

“Here’s the thing that hurts me the most, I have to believe on some level these people think they’re doing the right thing and they care about children. I just think they are so misguided,” Lewis said.

The following elementary schools, and one high school program, are closing:

1. Louis Armstrong Math & Science Elementary School

2. Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School

3. Arna Wendell Bontemps Elementary School

4. Kate S Buckingham Special Education Center

5. John Calhoun North Elementary School

6. Miriam G Canter Middle School

7. Ana Roque de Duprey Elementary School

8. Robert Emmet Elementary School

9. Nathan R Goldblatt Elementary School

10. Matthew A Henson Elementary School

11. Francis Scott Key Elementary School

12. William H King Elementary School

13. Alfred David Kohn Elementary School

14. Jean D Lafayette Elementary School

15. Guglielmo Marconi Elementary Community Academy

16. Garrett A Morgan Elementary School

17. Near North Elementary School

18. Anthony Overton Elementary School

19. Jesse Owens Elementary Community Academy

20. Ignance Paderewski Elementary Learning Academy

21. Francis Parkman Elementary School

22. Elizabeth Peabody Elementary School

23. Nathaniel Pope Elementary School

24. Betsy Ross Elementary School

25. Songhai Elementary Learning Institute

26. Graeme Stewart Elementary School

27. Lyman Trumbull Elementary School

28. Alexander von Humboldt Elementary School

29. West Pullman Elementary School

30. Granville T Woods Math & Science Academy ES

31. Elihu Yale Elementary School

32. Crispus Attucks Elementary School

33. John P Altgeld Elementary School

34. Benjamin Banneker Elementary School

35. Edward C Delano Elementary School

36. Dumas Technology Academy

37. Enrico Fermi Elementary School

38. Garfield Park Preparatory Academy ES

39. Elaine O Goodlow Elementary Magnet School

40. Victor Herbert Elementary School

41. Robert H Lawrence Elementary School

42. Horatio May Elementary Community Academy

43. William J & Charles H Mayo Elementary School

44. Pershing West Middle School

45. Martin A Ryerson Elementary School

46. Austin O Sexton Elementary School

47. Joseph Stockton Elementary School

48. Williams Multiplex Elementary School

49. Williams Preparatory Academy Middle School

50. Roswell B Mason Elementary School (high school program only)