New area code coming to central Illinois

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — A new area code is being added to the 217 territory in central Illinois.

The area code will be 447. The Illinois Commerce Commission says new phone numbers with the new area code won’t start until after March 29, 2021.

Current phone customers will keep 217.

The 217 area code covers 36 counties in Illinois and includes Springfield, Champaign, Urbana, Decatur, Danville, Quincy and Rantoul.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.