Lightfoot announces 7 new members of Chicago Board of Education

Data pix.

CHICAGO -- Mayor Lori Lightfoot announced that former Chicago clerk and state Sen. Miguel del Valle is her pick to lead the Chicago Public School Board.

Lightfoot also announced six other new members of the Chicago Public School Board; Sendhil Revuluri, as Vice President along with members Dwayne Truss, Elizabeth Todd-Breland, Lucino Sotelo, Luisiana Melendez and Amy Rome.

Del Valle has been a longtime presence in city and state politics. He was the first Latino in the state Senate, where he headed the Education Committee.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.