Lightfoot, Preckwinkle appear headed to mayoral runoff

Lori Lightfoot and Toni Preckwinkle appear to be headed to the mayoral runoff as Chicago voters cast their ballots for mayor on Tuesday. Other races included city clerk, city treasurer and 50 aldermen.

Fourteen people were running for mayor of Chicago. It was an unprecedented number of candidates and with no incumbent, the race was wide open. Gery Chico was the first to concede Tuesday evening followed by Garry McCarthy, Susana Mendoza, Amara Enyia, Paul Vallas and Bill Daley.

The runoff will be on April 2.

Polls closed at 7 p.m.  Election officials said the city had low voter turnout. The latest results can be found at

Use the hashtag #WGNElection on social media to share your photos with WGN. 

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.