Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane wins the Hart Memorial Trophy as NHL MVP

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LAS VEGAS  - Over the course of 84 games he set the bar not only for Blackhawks forwards of the future.

From the 26-game point streak to 106 points in a season, Patrick Kane turned in one of the best seasons in franchise history and the finest of his successful nine-year career.

The NHL rewarded him for that on Wednesday night in Las Vegas.

For the first time in his career Kane was named the winner of the Hart Trophy as the NHL MVP. He beat out Stars forward Jaime Benn and Penguins center Sidney Crosby for the honor.

Kane received 121 of the 150 possible first place votes for the award. Benn was second in the voting with Crosby third. No other Blackhawks received votes for the Hart Trophy.

He is the second American-born player to win the Hart Trophy and is the first Blackhawks player to win the award since Stan Mikita won it back-to-back years in 1967 & 1968. Its the seventh time a member of the team has won the Hart Trophy joining Mikita, forward Bobby Hull (1965 and 1966),  goaltender Al Rollins, and center Max Bentley (1946).

Kane finished this past season with personal bests in goals (46) and assists (60) and his 106 points led the NHL, which also earned him the Art Ross Trophy as the league's leading point-getter.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.