McDermott, Okafor, Parker among 25 named to USA Basketball Select Team

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – They won’t be making their way to Rio for the Summer Olympics later this summer, but a Chicago Bulls guard and a pair of Windy City native will help the team that is going prepare for the competition.

On Monday USA Basketball announced that Bulls guard Doug McDermott and former Simeon star Jabari Parker, and former Whitney Young star Jahlil Okafor have been named to the 25-player USA Basketball Select Team.

This is the group that will scrimmage the USA National Team that will travel to the Rio Olympics this August. The select team will participate with them during the pre-Olympics training came at the Mendenhall Center on the campus of UNLV.

Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich will coach the National Team with his San Antonio assistant Ime Udoka and Villanova head coach Jay Wright serving as assistants.

“The 2016 USA Basketball Select Team continues to our tradition of featuring some of the game’s brightest and most promising young players. Participation in this camp provides them with valuable experience at the USA Basketball National Team level, while helping prepare the 2016 USA National Team for its upcoming international competition. For many of the Select Team players this is a continuation of their USA Basketball experiences and for others it is an introduction into our pipeline,” said USA Basketball managing director Jerry Colangelo in a statement.

“Being chosen for the Select Team is an honor and it is an important step in becoming involved in USA Basketball’s National Team program in the future. Current national team players like Kevin Durant, Kyrie Irving, Klay Thompson, Kevin Love, Russell Westbrook, as well as many other outstanding players, got their USA National Team start through a Select Team.”

Others named to the team include: Malcolm Brogdon (University of Virginia); Devin Booker (Phoenix Suns); Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Detroit Pistons); Willie Cauley-Stein (Sacramento Kings); Kris Dunn  (Providence College); Aaron Gordon (Orlando Magic); Jerami Grant (Philadelphia 76ers); Gary Harris (Denver Nuggets); Rodney Hood (Utah Jazz); Brandon Ingram (Duke University);Brice Johnson (University of North Carolina), Stanley Johnson (Detroit Pistons); Zach LaVine (Minnesota Timberwolves); CJ McCollum (Portland Trail Blazers); Doug McDermott (Chicago Bulls); Emmanuel Mudiay (Denver Nuggets); Julius Randle (Los Angeles Lakers); D’Angelo Russell (Los Angeles Lakers); Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics);Myles Turner (Indiana Pacers); Denzel Valentine (Michigan State University); Justise Winslow (Miami Heat) and Cody Zeller (Charlotte Hornets).

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.