General Mills recalling 1.8M Cheerios boxes on allergy risk

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NEW YORK — General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.

The company shared an image on Twitter with more info on how consumers can see if their boxes were affected.

According to Cheerios, any customers who purchased Honey Nut Cheerios boxes with a “Better if used by” date between July 12-25 of 2016 with the letters LD following are asked to call 1-800-775-8370.

Anyone who purchased original Cheerios with the “Better if used by” dates of July 14-17 of 2016 with the same “LD” following is asked to call the same number.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.