Little League to dissolve JRW district

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Jackie Robinson West's Brandon Green reacts after pitching in the first inning. (photo via Chicago Tribune)

CHICAGO — Little League International has started a process that will lead to the dismantling of District 4, which consists of six leagues, including Jackie Robinson West.

Earlier Wednesday it was reported JRW was looking to leave Little League altogether and join the Cal Ripken Babe Ruth League.

In December Little League officials stripped JRW of the national title after team officials used players from outside its geographical boundaries.

Breaking up District 4 isn’t sitting well with the six leagues that belong to it and they’re working together to keep District 4 intact.

A Little League spokesman wrote in an email statement to WGN:

After a thorough review of operations within Illinois District 4 and in consultation with local volunteers, the Little League International Charter Committee has decided to dissolve Illinois District 4 and assign the leagues that were previously a part of the district to neighboring Little League Districts. Near South Little League, Bronzeville Little League, and Jackie Robinson West Little League will join Illinois District 12. While South Side Little League, Rosemoor Little League, and Roseland Little League will join Illinois District 7. This decision allows the local Little League programs in the area to continue with their operations under veteran, established district leadership and to continue to provide quality Little League experiences for the children in their communities. Local League and District officials were informed of the decision and all volunteers are encouraged to continue to prepare for a great 2015 season.


Comments are closed.