I-65, I-94 reopen as State of Emergency declared in 27 Indiana counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Interstate 65 and Interstate 94 reopened Monday afternoon, but drivers are advised to use extreme caution, take it slow, and travel at their own risk.

Sections of I-94 and I-65 closed to all traffic Sunday evening due to impassable roadways and ramps that stranded many motorists. More than 40 rescues were made overnight.

At a news conference Monday, Indiana Governor Mike Pence said only emergency vehicles should be on the roads.

Pence he thanked Hoosiers for their patience during this historic cold snap: “We are grateful to have had the cooperation of the public over the first 36 hours of this event.  We will continue to rely on the common sense and judgement of the people of Indiana.  If you can stay inside today, stay inside.”

Pence told reporters he was declaring a state of emergency in 27 counties via an executive order.

The counties are:

  • Allen
  • Boone
  • Clinton
  • Delaware
  • Fulton
  • Grant
  • Greene
  • Howard
  • Kosciusko
  • LaPorte
  • LaGrange
  • Lake
  • Marshall
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Newton
  • Noble
  • Perry
  • Pulaski
  • St. Joseph
  • Steuben
  • Sullivan
  • Tipton
  • Vigo
  • Wabash
  • White
  • Whitley

Our sister station WXIN contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

1 Comment