WATCH LIVE: SkyCam9 over procession for fallen officers

Contenders make final push for IL 2nd District race

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Contenders for Illinois 2nd Congressional seat are making their final push to Chicago-area voters today.

Voters will take part in a special election primary to decide who will hold the seat once held by former Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr.

14 Democrats and 4 Republicans will appear on the ballot.

The Democratic contenders include Rep. Robin Kelly, former U.S. Rep. Debbie Halvorson , Chicago Ald. Anthony Beale, (9th), Ernest Fenton, Victor Jonathan, Larry Pickens, Joyce Washington, Rev. Anthony Williams, Fatimah Muhammad, Clifford Eagleton, Mel Reynolds, Charles Rayburn, John Blythe and Gregory Haynes.

On the Republican side: Beverly Reid, Lenny McAllister, Paul McKinley and Eric Wallace.

In-person absentee voting will be held today at 69 W. Washington. Mail-in absentee ballots must be postmarked by tonight.

Polls will be open throughout the second district from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

1 Comment