New course record set during the 36th annual Chicago Marathon

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Dennis Kimetto of Kenya (left) wins the men’s elite division. Rita Jeptoo of Kenya (right) wins the women’s elite division. (Jose M. Osorio, Chicago Tribune)

By Tribune reporters: Jeremy Gorner, John Keilman, Geoff Ziezulewicz and Kim Geiger

While security was on the minds of many runners during their 26.2 mile journey through the city’s streets, runners didn’t let it stop them as the winning runners set a new course record in what has become a historic Chicago Marathon.

Dennis Kimetto of Kenya won the male division with an unofficial time of 2:03:45, breaking the previous record set last year of 2:04:38.

Rita Jeptoo of Kenya won the female division with an unofficial time of 2:19:59, slower than the 2002 course record of 2:17:18.

The winners of the wheelchair division finished the race in less than 2 hours. As a group of wheelchairs crossed the finish line a number of volunteers clapped and cheered.

Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa won the male wheelchair division with a time of 1:30:37 and the winner of the female wheelchair division, Tatyana McFadden of Champaign won with a time of 1:42:37.

For more on this story, go to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s