Countdown to concealed-carry: What gunowners can expect
With Illinois’ new concealed-carry law set to take effect in just a few months, the person next to you could soon be wearing one under his shirt, in her purse or around the ankle.
Wisconsin passed its concealed-carry law almost two years ago, allowing anyone at least 21 years old and who is legally able to possess a gun to get a permit once they take a certified training course.
Illinois’ conceal carry laws are much stricter than Wisconsin’s, instead of just 4 hours of instruction, Illinois residents will have to have 16 hours of firearm training, some of which has to take place on a firing range.
If you plan to get a conceal-carry permit in Illinois a license will cost $150 dollars. Applications for Illinois’s concealed-carry permits won’t be available until January 5th.
WGN’s Tonya Fransisco visited a course just north of the border where the focus is on safety and responsibility. She spoke with instructors and gun owners and reports on what future gun owners in Illinois can expect.