Local News

Illinois enacts concealed carry gun law

Illinois is now the 50th state to allow people to carry concealed handguns.

The General Assembly over-rode Governor Quinn’s effort to modify a concealed carry bill, and enacted its original bill.

It will take six months to create a screening and application process to weed out criminals and the mentally ill who want gun permits.

The first concealed carry permits probably won’t be issued until next Spring.  Until then, concealed carry is still illegal.

CaptureApplications will be available and on the Illinois State Police website.

Illinois residents pay $150 to have a permit for five years.

Applicants must be at least 21-years-old and have a valid FOID card.

Anyone who has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving a violent crime or a DUI within the past five years will be rejected.


5 Comments to “Illinois enacts concealed carry gun law”

    Ven said:
    July 10, 2013 at 2:25 PM

    Next spring, really? Just keep trying to hold us back from protecting ourselves! Not gonna happen…

    Adam said:
    July 10, 2013 at 2:38 PM

    Watch crime rates start dropping next spring.

    sps said:
    July 10, 2013 at 2:46 PM

    Too much crime its time for us to take a stand and protect ourselves and our own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s