Gov. Quinn asks for more federal aid for flood victims

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Governor Pat Quinn is asking for additional federal aid for victims of last month’s floods.
Quinn asked the government to add an additional 16 counties to a recent federal disaster declaration that covered 11 counties.
The change would allow for home and business owners in those counties to qualify  for grants and loans to cover the costs of their flood losses.

The additional counties are Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren and Woodford.

On May 10, President Obama declared Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will, federal disaster areas triggering the release of federal funds to help individuals and businesses recover from severe storms and flooding that began on April 18, 2013.
So far more than 16-thousand applications for assistance have been submitted  for disaster aid.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s