Candidates file for Jackson Jr.’s former Congressional seat

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Democrats hoping to fill the Senate seat formerly held by Jesse Jackson Jr., started filing their candidacy petitions.

Five people filed early Thursday morning, all hoping for a top spot on the ballot.

A lottery next Tuesday will determine who gets that coveted spot in the special primary on Feb. 28.

Among those filing so far, 9th Ward Ald. Anthony Beale, (9th Ward), state Sen. Toi Hutchinson, former state Rep. Robin Kelly, state Sen-elect Napoleon Harris, and Clifford Eagleton of Harvey.

No Republican candidates have field in the heavy Democratic, 2nd Congressional District.

The deadline for filing is Monday, Jan. 7.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s